New US Ambassador To Hungary Will Promote 'Freedoms Of Expression'

  • 11 May 2018 8:25 AM
  • Hungary Matters
New US Ambassador To Hungary Will Promote 'Freedoms Of Expression'
US businessman David B. Cornstein (pictured on top), President Donald Trump’s nominee for ambassador to Hungary, has said that he would work to promote his country’s business interests as well as democratic values on his mission.

At a hearing in the US Senate, Cornstein said his primary focus would be strengthening bilateral ties and promoting such democratic values as the freedoms of expression, media, and religion.

He said he would build close cooperation with the Hungarian government concerning shared security concerns and added that such cooperation would further strengthen communication between law-enforcement and antiterrorism organisations.

Concerning the Hungarian economy, the candidate said that it has performed especially well under Viktor Orbán’s premiership.

Cornstein said it was important to fight anti-Semitism in Hungary and in the region. He said he would closely cooperate with Jewish organisations and religious communities to ensure security for the Jewish community.

  • How does this content make you feel?

XpatLoop Media Partner

Hungary Matters

Launched in January 2014, this twice-daily newsletter covers 'everything you need to know about what’s going on in Hungary and beyond', according to its publisher the state media agency MTI. Click the title above for more info, and to subscribe.

Explore More Reports

  • Local Opinion: Orbán Rejects EU Pressure

    Local Opinion: Orbán Rejects EU Pressure

    • 14 Sep 2018 7:52 AM

    After the Hungarian Prime Minister told the European Parliament that he will not yield to what he called ‘blackmail’, commentators weigh the pros and the cons of voting for or against the Sargentini report.

  • Joint Embassies Press Release About Budapest Pride Festival

    Joint Embassies Press Release About Budapest Pride Festival

    • 6 Jul 2018 9:46 AM

    The following is issued by the Embassies of Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The United Kingdom, The United States, and the British Council.